[vc_row][vc_column][vc_wp_text]Online Traffic school is a great option for people that want to prevent points from being held against their license. Completing a traffic class is also beneficial for drivers who would like to reduce their insurance rates or simply become more defensive on the roads. While traffic school is a readily available option for a vast variety of people, there are a few restrictions that you should be aware of.
In-person and online traffic school Florida eligibility requirements state that drivers with a commercial driver’s license, which are indicated as Class A, B or C licenses cannot elect to attend a traffic class in order to prevent points from a ticket. Similarly, you cannot attend a driving school if you are cited with a criminal violation such as driving under the influence, leaving the scene of an accident with property damage or knowingly driving with a suspended license. If you were ticketed for speeding, passing a stopped school bus, failure to yield at a stop sign, failure to wear your seat belt, improper parking, etc. then you received a non-criminal moving-violation and qualify to attend traffic school to avoid the point penalty. If you were the at-fault driver in a crash where someone was taken to the hospital, or, if you had two crashes within two years where the property damage was over $500, you also qualify.
How Often is Traffic School an Option?
When drivers complete a driver improvement program, it is expected that they will learn how to become a more defensive driver which will reduce their likelihood of being in accidents. For this reason, you are only eligible to attend once within a 12 month period of time. Florida mandates that you can only choose to attend traffic school up to 5 times in your lifetime, however, you may be eligible to attend more frequently if approved by a judge.[/vc_wp_text][/vc_column][/vc_row]