What’s in the Ohio Abbreviated Adult Training Course?
In short, it is a compressed driver’s ed class. It is required for all adults (18 years or older) who failed a driving part of their driving test at the BMV. The course is six (6) chapters with quizzes at the end that are one (1) question each. There is a final exam with 20 questions.
What are the requirements?
After July 1.2017 the state of Ohio requires any adult (18+) to take this course that failed a driving part of the driving test.
How long is the Ohio Abbreviated Adult Course?
The normal course for teens under 18 is 24 hours long. The course for adults is only 4 hours but you have to spend a minimum of 4 hours in the course. This is the state requirement for ALL traffic schools. However, time can vary based on the students’ learning speed and how often they start/stop the course so many of our students spend more than 4 hours. However, you have 90 days from when you start to finish it or you are automatically locked out.
Do I have to take all 4 hours at once?
Nope! You can break up the 4 hours however you would like. There’s no need to rush through the material. If you stop the course, it will pick up right where you left off. Just make sure you finish it in 90 days.
Is there a test?
Yep! There is a test at the end with 20 questions. You must pass.
What if I don’t pass the test?
You have three (3) attempts to pass. However, you must wait 24 hours between each attempt if you happen to fail. The point is that you use that time to review the material so you don’t fail again. If you fail all three tries, then you will have to repurchase the course and start all over.
Is there a certificate of completion?
Yes. We have to mail you a hard copy of your certificate to your mailing address. We can’t email it because it is not permitted by Ohio state law. It usually takes less than 7 days to receive it in the mail after you pass your test. We mail them out every weekday at 11:30 AM. Meaning not on weekends. If you need it faster than that we do offer expedited shipping from FedEx.
Is there anything else I need to do?
Yes, you need to practice your driving. You must choose one of two ways. One is to practice 24 hours of driving with a license driver 21 years old or older. You can only practice 4 hours each day max. The other is to take 4 hours of driving instruction from a license driving instructor. Although the first option seems free you need to pay for the gas driving 24 hours. That works out to about $150 give or take. Many licensed instructors are around $200. So for a few bucks more you get it done a lot faster and get the benefit of a professional driving instructor.