Motorcycle Licensing and Training
If you are interested in driving a motorcycle, you might be surprised to learn that a regular Class E driver’s license doesn’t automatically authorize you to drive a motorcycle. This makes sense– after all, motorcycles are extremely dangerous, and they have a lot of major challenges that riders have to overcome.
Obtaining a Motorcycle Endorsement
If you are under 18, you will need to hold a learner’s license for 12 months or until your 18th birthday, complete a motorcycle safety course and not have any moving traffic violation convictions. If you are over 18, you need to pass the vision test, the Class E knowledge exam, and complete the motorcycle safety course. If you plan to have a “motorcycle also” license, where you’re authorized to operate both a car and a motorcycle, you will need to have a Class E license or higher, and complete a motorcycle safety course referred to as the Florida Rider Training Program.
Motorcyclist Protection Requirements
If you intend to ride a motorcycle, you should become well-versed in the kinds of safety gear you will be required to use. Since there isn’t much protection between you and the road, other than your clothes and bike, safety gear is extremely important.In Florida, motorcyclists are required to wear protective headgear that complies with the Federal Motorcycle Safety Standards. In addition to this, they must also wear eye-protection devices. Keep in mind that a rider over the age of 21 is allowed to ride or operate their motorcycle without protective headgear as long as they have an insurance policy that provides at least $10,000 in medical benefits for injuries in the event of a crash while operating or riding on a motorcycle. However, it is still extremely recommended to wear appropriate headgear, regardless of your insurance policy. Even if you qualify to ride your motorcycle without headgear, everyone is required to wear eye protection.
Equipment for motorcycle and moped riders. The 2014 Florida Statutes.