OHIO: Licensed Driver or Driving School? (+Infographic)

[vc_row][vc_column][vc_message]If you’re 18 or older and failed your Ohio road or maneuverability test at the BMV to get your license, then this post is for you![/vc_message][vc_column_text]

If you’ve already taken the Online Abbreviated Adult Course, the next step is to do some behind-the-wheel practice!

The state of Ohio has strict requirements for drivers education, and if you fail the road or maneuverability test and you are 18 or over, you are required to take some additional behind-the-wheel practice before you can retest.  

While a lot of people find this to be an unfair situation, it is actually extremely beneficial in the long run. After all, you want to make sure that you know the laws and the safest way to drive. You’ll be driving for a LONG time, after all!

What do you need to know?

There are two options to meet the behind-the-wheel requirements. You can either:

  • Practice with any licensed driver that is 21 or older
  • Practice with a licensed driving instructor

[/vc_column_text][vc_single_image image=”10712″ img_size=”full” title=”Shareable Infographic”][vc_column_text]

Share this infographic on your website


Pros & Cons


24-Hours with a Licensed Driver (21+ years old)

  • Getting into the car with someone you know and are comfortable with can ease your mind and make the whole experience less stressful.
  • Practice intermittently at times that are convenient to you, no need to figure out scheduling.

[/vc_column_text][vc_message message_box_color=”warning”]What’s the Downside? You can only do 4 hours of practice per day, so it’ll take you a minimum of 6 days to complete. If you’re thinking that this option will save you money, think again! After you pay for 24 hours of gas, the price will be almost equal to going with a professional driving school.[/vc_message][vc_column_text]

4-Hours with a Licensed Driving Instructor

  • Meet the requirements quickly, in as little as 1 day.
  • Learn from someone with experience in teaching driver instruction

[/vc_column_text][vc_message message_box_color=”warning”]What’s the Downside? You will need to drive with someone you don’t know, and you also have to schedule a date and time in advance to make sure the instructor is available. This option usually costs about the same as it would cost for 24-hrs worth of gas. However, you would need to pay this all upfront unlike with gas where you pay as you use it instead.[/vc_message][/vc_column][/vc_row]


Explore More

Florida BDI Course Online

The Florida BDI Course Online Looking to complete your Florida BDI course online (also called the Florida Basic Driver Improvement Course)? You’re in the right

Read More »