Florida Texting and Driving Law (+Infographic)


Florida Texting and Driving Law

As of July 1, 2019, texting while driving is a primary offense. You will be ticketed by law enforcement if they see you texting while driving!

Everyone knows the dangers of texting and driving. After all, it’s not exactly safe for anyone when someone takes their eyes off of the road while driving a giant, metal machine at high speeds. The Florida Texting and Driving Law shows that the state of Florida is doing their best to put an end to that danger.

Florida Texting and Driving Law

texting and driving couple in car tennessee

It is a ticketable offense to operate a moving car while you are using a cell phone for anything other than a phone call or GPS navigation. You also aren’t allowed to be driving while using tablets, laptops, two-way messaging devices, or handheld game devices. If an officer spots you doing any of these things while you drive, they can pull you over and give you a ticket.

Restrictions on Phone Calls

While you’re still allowed to use a handheld phone for making calls, you are not allowed to do so in:

  • Work zones
  • School zones


  • For your first offense, there is a fine of $30.
  • If you get pulled over for texting and driving again within 5 years, the fine is $60 and you will also have 3 points added against your driving record.
  • If you get into a crash as a result of texting, you will have 6 points added against you!
  • Remember: If you get too many points within a certain period of time, your driver’s license will be suspended. So, it’s never good to get points for a violation.

[/vc_column_text][vc_single_image image=”10158″ img_size=”full” title=”Shareable Infographic”][vc_column_text]

Share this infographic on your website


Tips to Stop a Texting & Driving Habit

[/vc_column_text][vc_column_text]Here are some helpful tips to get you to stop a texting habit.

1. Make your phone inaccessible.

Go out of your way to make your phone useless or unavailable to you while you drive. This might mean that you put it in the backseat or in your car’s glove compartment. If you’re not a fan of those options, you can also download an app that locks your phone from texting when your vehicle is in motion.

2. Make your calls or texts in the parking lot before you start driving.

If you have something urgent to say, get it out of the way before you begin the trip. In all likelihood, you won’t be driving for that long. You can wait to get to your destination to read the response. And if it’s urgent? Pull over to get the answers you need. There’s no reason to risk your life, someone else’s life, or getting a traffic ticket because you needed to know some little piece of information. It’s really not worth the risk for such a simple thing as finding out what you should pick up from a store.

3. Make a commitment.

Be realistic — you can’t be available 24/7. It would be unfair to expect that from anyone! When you are driving, you are unavailable. You’ve got to have your attention focused on the road. But if you’re worried about not responding to a message, turn on the setting on your phone that will automatically send a response text that lets people know that you’re driving.[/vc_column_text][/vc_column][/vc_row]


Explore More

Florida BDI Course Online

The Florida BDI Course Online Looking to complete your Florida BDI course online (also called the Florida Basic Driver Improvement Course)? You’re in the right

Read More »